Zone 8 Championships

2021 Zone 8 Pairs Championships

The Temora Bowling and Rec duo of Arty Stacey and Bruce Lack captured the Zone 8 State Pairs Championship played @ Young Bowling Club over the weekend of the 5-6 June.

They defeated the team of David Brown (Duane Crowe sub) and Andrew Hirst from North Albury in a gripping final which came down to the last end 19-18. This made up for Bruce being defeated last weekend in the Final of the Singles.

In section 1 North Albury had wins over Brian Harris and Max Douglas from Leeton & District 28-11 and over Darren Conroy & Ray Hope from Rules Club Wagga by 26-10 to finish with 4 points +33.

In section 2 Temora had wins over Steve Poole & Adam Peel from Tumut 27-16 and over the team of John Harriot & Shane Foote from Harden 18-17 to finish with 4 points + 12.

This set up a thrilling final on Sunday afternoon.

In the Seniors Championship Final, the teams of Noel O’Brien & Ross Maguire (Rules Wagga) played John Humphries & Graeme Rossiter (Club Tumut) with the Wagga due winning 21-4.

In the President’s Reserve Championship Final, the teams of Rick Crofts & Les Pilfoot (Howlong) played Anthony Wilson & Jason Jones (Cootamundra Ex) with the Howlong due winning 18-16.

In the Reserves competition in Section A all three teams finished with 1 win apiece with Howlong and Coolamon unable to be separated as both had 2 points + 1. This meant that a countback on the number of ends won was required with Howlong making the final by the skin of their teeth.

2021 Senior Finalists

2021 Reserve Finalists